Elisabeth FUSS AMORE (20th century) The...

Lot 26
Aller au lot
Estimation :
800 - 1000 EUR

Elisabeth FUSS AMORE (20th century) The...

Elisabeth FUSS AMORE (20th century)
The kid
Oil on cardboard panel
Signed upper left, signed again on the back and titled "The Kid."
Exhibition label at the 1924 Tile Fair No. 72
57 x 38 cm
Original oak frame

Painter and important personality of Montparnasse Elisabeth Fuss Amoré is also a member of the Salon d'Automne and exhibits her paintings there in 1920 and 1921. Her friend Amedeo Modigliani portrays her in 1916, he is particularly fascinated by her gaze.
Her husband, the Belgian journalist Gustave Fuss-Amoré knew André Salmon and the literary personalities of Montparnasse well. André Salmon said of Elisabeth Fuss-Amoré in Propos d'ateliers in 1925 that she was "crazy about colour".

This portrait of a young man with a cap is typical of the artist's style in the 1920s. The brushstroke is quick, and the colours used are a mix of shaded brown tones and brighter colours such as purple and pink. The painter particularly liked to portray workers, circus people and popular festivals by working on the expression of the models, the colour and the framing.

Exhibition label on the back, Salon des Tuileries 1924 n° 72.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

Elisabeth FUSS AMORE (XXe siècle) Le gamin...

Lot 26
Aller au lot
Estimation :
800 - 1000 EUR

Elisabeth FUSS AMORE (XXe siècle) Le gamin...

Elisabeth FUSS AMORE (XXe siècle)
Le gamin
Huile sur panneau cartonné
Signé en haut à gauche, signé de nouveau au dos et intitulé « Le gamin »
Étiquette d’exposition au salon des tuileries 1924 n° 72
57 x 38 cm
Cadre en chêne d’origine

Peintre et personnalité importante de Montparnasse Elisabeth Fuss Amoré est également sociétaire du Salon d’Automne et y expose ses toiles en 1920 et 1921. Son ami Amedeo Modigliani la portraiture en 1916, il est particulièrement fasciné par son regard.
Son Mari, le journaliste belge Gustave Fuss-Amoré connnait bien André Salmon et les personalités littéraires de Montparnasse. André Salmon dit de Elisabeth Fuss-Amoré dans Propos d’ateliers en 1925 qu’elle est « Folle de couleur ».

Ce portrait de jeune homme à la casquette est typique du style de l’artiste dans les années 1920. La touche est rapide, et les couleurs utilisées sont un mélange de tons bruns nuancés et de couleurs plus vives comme le violet et le rose. La peintre aimait particulièrement portraiturer les travailleurs, ouvriers, gens du cirque et fêtes populaires en travaillant l’expression des modèle, la couleur et le cadrage.

Etiquette d’exposition au dos, Salon des Tuileries 1924 n° 72.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue